Corporate Overview
| Name of Group/Company | Central Africa Building Society (CABS) - trading name "CABS", a wholly owned subsidiary of Old Mutual Zimbabwe Limited |
| Nature of Operations | Building society (RBZ-registered deposit-taking institution) and the largest and oldest building society in Zimbabwe, offering retail, corporate, mortgage/property and digital banking services. Registered under the Building Societies Act [Chapter 24:02] and the Banking Act [Chapter 24:20]. |
| Products and Services Offered | Retail and corporate deposit taking; mortgage and property finance; loans and advances; digital banking (CABS Digital Banking, WhatsApp Banking, Mobile App, *227# USSD, CABS Virtual Visa Card); trade finance and credit lines; custodial services; treasury; card and POS services; USD cash deposit ATMs. |
| Markets Served | Zimbabwe - retail (individual/Member) customers, corporate and SME customers, and the mortgage/property finance market, served through a nationwide branch network. |
| Listings | Not separately listed on the Zimbabwe Stock Exchange (ZSE) or any other exchange. CABS is a wholly owned (100%) subsidiary of Old Mutual Zimbabwe Limited; its ultimate holding company is Old Mutual Limited, incorporated and registered in South Africa. |
Detailed Corporate Information
| Corporate Information Item | Details |
| Country of Incorporation | Zimbabwe |
| Company Website | www.cabs.co.zw |
| Company Email | management@cabs.co.zw / support@cabs.co.zw |
| Official Social Media | Facebook: /cabs.zimbabwe | X (Twitter): /@CabsZimbabwe | LinkedIn: company/cabs | Instagram: /cabszimbabwe |
| Registered Address | 3 Northend Close, Northridge Park, Highlands, Harare, Zimbabwe |
| Postal Address | P O Box 2798, Harare, Zimbabwe |
| Telephone | +263 (242) 883823 (Fax: +263 (242) 883804) |
| Branch/Office Network | NR (not disclosed as a total count in the 2025 Annual Report; nationwide CABS branch network referenced, including named branches: Borrowdale, Southerton, Digital Service Centre, Park Street, Gweru, CABS Centre Bulawayo, Northridge Park, Mutare, Masvingo, First Street, Chiredzi, Central Avenue, Avondale, Arundel) |
| Workforce Headcount | NR |
| Principal Bankers | NR |
| Lawyers | NR |
| Auditor | Axcentium (Chartered Accountants Zimbabwe), West Block, Borrowdale Office Park, Borrowdale, P.O Box 267, Harare, Zimbabwe |
Top Shareholders
| Shareholder Name | % Holding | Reporting Date |
| Old Mutual Zimbabwe Limited (parent company - 100% ownership; CABS is a wholly owned subsidiary, not a dispersed-shareholder entity) | 10000.00% | 31 December 2025 |
| Total | 10000.00% | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
Subsidiaries of the Company
| Subsidiary | Shareholding Held | Nature of Business |
| NR | NR | CABS is a single Society-level reporting entity and does not report owning its own subsidiaries in the 2025 Annual Report (it is itself a wholly owned subsidiary of Old Mutual Zimbabwe Limited - see Top Shareholders) |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
Credit Ratings
| Entity Name | Rating |
| Central Africa Building Society (CABS) | AA- (National Long-term, Stable outlook, Global Credit Rating Company (GCR), issued Jul 2025) |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| NR = Not Reported (line item / field was not disclosed in that year's annual report). Figures are as-reported, verbatim from each year's own primary audited consolidated financial statements - no recalculation, reclassification or restatement applied. Audited Inflation Adjusted figures (IAS 29) are used as the primary/audited column for 2021-2023, consistent with each year's own audit opinion; Historical (post functional-currency-change) figures are used for 2024-2025. All figures in thousands, converted directly from the source annual report's stated units (millions). All Company Overview data is drawn from the most recent (2025) Annual Report only. |
Disclaimer: This information is not financial advice. While all data has been reviewed for accuracy, it relies on historical reporting and may contain errors or omissions.